The First Bayes-Duality Workshop

About Program Participants


The tentative program is here

The first workshop of the Bayes-duality project to be held physically in Japan. This meeting main goal is to discuss long and short term goals while fostering collaboration among its attendees. It will also give the opportunity to share its members recent work, published or ongoing. Members of the ML community will join to give talks and discuss with project members their work. The organizers hope is that this workshop leads to an increase in the impact and outreach of the project as well as helping members expand their networks.

Part 1 and Part 3 features talks by several invited speakers. Part 2 focuses on talks by the three PIs of Bayes-duality and many brainstorming/discussion sessions. The groups of three PIs will share some of their recent works and, through discussion, we will come up with new ideas to shape the future of the Bayes-duality project. We also hope to figure out immediate projects that some of us could work together on in the near future.

This workshop is partially supported by the Bayes-Duality Project, JST CREST Grant Number JPMJCR2112: “A new Bayes-duality principle for adaptive, robust, and lifelong learning of AI systems”.


Invited Speakers
  • Marc Deisenroth, UCL, UK
  • Martin Mundt, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Nico Daheim, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Jonghyun Choi, Yonsei University, South Korea
  • Pierre Alquier, ESSEC Business school, Singapore
  • Haavard Rue, KAUST, Saudi Arabia
  • Frank Nielsen, Sony AI, Tokyo
  • Dharmesh Tailor, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Siddharth Swaroop, SEAS, Harvard University, USA
  • Emtiyaz Khan
  • Thomas Möllenhoff
  • Gian Maria Marconi
  • Happy Buzaaba
  • Hugo Monzón
  • Geoffrey Wolfer
  • Peter Nickl
  • Keigo Nishida
  • Yuesong Shen, ABI Intern/Technical University of Munich, Germany
Math-Science Team, RIKEN
  • Kenichi Bannai, Keio University/RIKEN
  • Kei Hagihara, Keio University
  • Eren Mehmet Kiral, RIKEN/Keio University
  • Akiyoshi Sannai, Kyoto University/Keio University
  • Asuka Takatsu, Tokyo Metropolitan University/Keio/RIKEN
  • Koichi Tojo, RIKEN/Keio University
  • Shuji Yamamoto, Keio University/RIKEN
  • Kanji Inui, Keio University
HPC Team
  • Rio Yokota, Tokyo Tech
  • Shaoshuai Zhang, Tokyo Tech
  • Cong Bai, Tokyo Tech
  • Clément Bazan, Tokyo Tech
Stat-Theory Team
  • Konstantinos Pitas, Inria Grenoble Rhône-Alpes, France